Quiz Bowl Champions & Linette Butler Memorial Award

Quiz Bowl Mission

The mission of the Wood County Academic Quiz Bowl League is to challenge students to acquire new knowledge, and portray attitudes of respect for themselves and others as they enjoy academic competition.

2016 Quiz Bowl Champions

Eastwood Champions

Woodmore Middle School Champions

Eastwood Champs


Eastwood 5-6 Team

WCESC Supt. Kyle Kanuckel recognizes Team members:  Zach Buehler, Ethan Edelbrock, Logan Farnsworth, Devin Good, Jacob Meyer, Xander Ramsey, Ian Sander, and Noah Smith

 Coach:  Kari Hildreth

Woodmore Middle School Team

Team Members:  Jordan Fite, Caitlyn Ivy, Phoebe Jackson, Jonathan Kigar, Zachary Nissen, Pierce Overmyer, Maggie Spicer, and Aaron Wagner

Coach:  Ms. Sally Makulinski



        The WCESC Governing Board, Superintendent and Staff wish to commend all students and their coaches for demonstrating good sportsmanship and overall academic knowledge during the Quiz Bowl and regular league competitions.

Special gratitude is extended to the dedicated Quiz Bowl Coordinators:
Jan Fries, Sandy Laborie, & Katie Smith

Congratulations to the winners!

2016 Linette Butler Memorial Award

        Each year an exceptional student from one of the Junior High/Middle School Quiz Bowl teams is selected by the Wood County ESC staff to receive the Linette Butler Memorial Award in recognition of displaying *spirit of competition, *attitude of respect, *leadership skills, *commitment and dedication, *passion for Quiz Bowl, and *being a team member.

     This award is named for Linette Butler, a former student member of the Bowling Green Christian Academy Quiz Bowl team who is no longer with us.  Linette demonstrated all of the outstanding characteristics listed above.  She truly personified the mission of the Quiz Bowl program. Linette was a dedicated and competitive player who displayed strong leadership skills, as well as courage throughout her battle with illness.

2016 Linette Butler Memorial Award

Meg Empcke - North Baltimore Schools
presented by Deb Butler, mother of Linette Butler

2016 Linette Butler Memorial Award 2

Coach Jeff Gregorsok, Supt. Ryan Delaney, Awardee Meg Empcke,
Principal Bob Falkenstein, Parent Tonya & Fred Empcke